Tag Archive: Historical pursuit

Hilton Head Island – A Historical pursuit

6a00d83451876969e20120a59cc25e970b-piHilton Head Island was legally incorporated as a town in 1983, with a year-round population of 35000 and environmentally friendly design. It was discovered by William Hilton 300years ago and remains the same to this day. Hilton Head Island’s remains the natural beauty and spectacular seascapes, exceptional flora-fauna and South Carolina’s historical sites have captivated centuries of travelers —with Native Americans being a part of it. Now is the time for you to reach out to the unseen shore on Hilton Head Island. For more details check for Hilton head island real estate.

The Huguenots South Carolina’s major cultural heritage comprises of Hilton Head Island historical sites. William Hilton the English sea captain William Hilton in 1663 sighted Hilton Head Island and successful first plantations were done, as an outcome. Hilton wrote about his expedition in his journal, started by a group of Barbados planters to explore the new land on which new food crops can be grown. In 1521 Spanish were the first confirmed Europeans to step into this island, a century before Hilton set his foot.

HHI also became home to French Huguenot colonists who fled their Catholic homeland to avoid persecution in the early 1560s. The French put the island on the map as Island of the Broad River-“Ile de la Rivière Grande”. They also christened Port Royale Harbour, known now as Port Royal Sound and later moved to safer land know called as Beaufort, South Carolina. Church steeple Earliest Inhabitants Spanish speaking Yamassee tribe Indians were encountered when William Hilton reached low country in 1663, migrated from Florida 100 years back.

Native Escamacus Indians were also encountered by him. Limited information is available of the 4000 years earlier native civilization that inhabited the island. On the island, you can see mysterious remains of shell rings of measurements 240 feet across and 9 feet high. Similar to the rocks of Stonehenge and the carvings of Easter Island, their mystery also remains unsolved. These artifacts of the history can be visited today in the Hilton Head Island on the north end of the Island at Green Shell Park and at Sea Pines Forest Preserve.

In 1698 John Bayley granted the Low country islands by the English king and named as Bayley’s Barony, Trench’s Island was the name given to HHI as an honor to Alexander Trench who was the collector and the agent of Bayley’s property. In 1717 John Barnwell after receiving a grant 1,000-acre property became the first English settler in Hilton Head Island where Plantation is located at present. But the recognition for HHI came in 1790 when William Elliott, a planter finally raised a successful first crop of long-staple Sea Island cotton and then in 1860, more plantations were in cultivation on Hilton Head Island.

The main crop was cotton, sugar cane, rice. The patrician and lavish lifestyle of the plantation owners came to an end due to the Civil War and the abolition of slavery. Subsequently, the freed slaves tried to grow Sea Island cotton in Mitchellville This lead to Hilton Head Island slipping t into obscurity and isolation for over 90 years.